Do you read more than one book at once?

‘Girl Reading’ by Charles Edward Perugini

This is a question that has always puzzled me. For my entire life I have read voraciously, in style, amount and method. When I was little, I had so many books in my bed I would have to curl around them, and their sharp corners used to jab me in the night! I would often be reading at least 3 different books at once. What is surprising is that I always finished them, something that I am struggling with now.

However, I still enjoy reading more than one book at once, especially in different themes, so I can pick up and a read a few chapters to suit my mood, or to change it.

Do you do this?

Currently I am reading the lovely light ‘Monday to Friday Man’ by Alice Peterson (which has just knocked off ’50 Shades of Grey’ from the top selling position) and the thrilling ‘Dead Man’s Grip’, by Peter James.

Out of the two, I am currently enjoying Peterson’s more, simply because it is all about London, and having lived here for only 3 months, it is quite nice being able to relate. But I think James’ will leave a longer, lasting impression. One positive of multi-reading is that it encourages you to compare and contrast, which allows you to discover and consider new things you may not have thought about.

One thought on “Do you read more than one book at once?

  1. Reading is good for the mind and the soul. My Grandfather read book till his death at 94 years old. Reading keep the mind active and strong. I can read one book for pleasure at a time. Life can keep us busy.

Leave a Reply

