Being Who You Want To Be

Do you ever feel like you’re not the person you want to be? Or perhaps even the person you used to be?

I have been feeling like that recently, and instead of getting too glum, I want to make active steps to being a happier version of me. Every day we make decisions, and every time this happens we have an opportunity to be and do a wide variety of things. It is rarely a choice between right and wrong, but more complicated, modern problems like the pull between putting yourself first or helping others. I have found it’s simple decision between accepting invitations to be sociable or going home and just browsing the internet all night.

I always like collecting quotations that strike a chord with how I am feeling and inspire change. They have varied through my life. When I was 16/17 the phrase

“Be the change you want to see in the world”

really hit home, and I would try and make my choices around it. I still like this phrase, and it will always be with me, as they all will.
During university I was constantly reading, and so had a lot of highlighted passages in all books, but one I remember is about keeping your long-term goal in mind during your short-term activities.

“How different our lives are when we really know what is deeply important to us, and keeping that picture in mind, we manage ourselves each day to be and do what really matters most” Stephen Covey.

This month, two have been battling for the top place as my mental mantra. They are simple and short.

“We become what we think about most”

Working in online retail fashion, one can become too wrapped up in a world of pettiness, assumptions and just focusing in things that are meaningless. I found myself becoming a negative person, thinking thoughts that shocked me even when I thought them! I don’t want to be like that. Next,

“The reality of life is now” John Green

I have always had this mindset but John has phrased it beautifully. It is hard to work for the future when you are only aware of the now; today is your reality. There is no gurantee of the future you want, even if you work your butt off for it. Be happy today.

I don’t mean to preach or lecture anyone, as after all, we all have different aims, goals and achievements. And I know I will always always always love clothes, shoes, handbags, makeup and hair products, but do I only want my life based on appearances? I am sure balance and moderation are the key to a happy life.

At the age of 22, working out who you are can be tricky.

So tonight I have a choice; do I go to a fashion sale event where I can buy designer clothes at 80% off, or do I walk to this book store, one of the few remaining independent book stores in my area, and buy JK Rowlings latest release?

2 thoughts on “Being Who You Want To Be

Leave a Reply

